Massage therapists and establishments that provide massage therapy services may open and practice but are not required to open and practice and should not open and practice if they cannot reasonably assure their safety and the safety of their workers and clients.
Is draping required for massage in North Carolina?
Licensees shall adhere to the following requirements, except in the case of treatments where the client remains fully clothed: (1) provide draping in a manner that ensures the safety, comfort and privacy of the client; (2) maintain a supply of clean drapes, such as towels, sheets, gowns or other coverings, for the …
When can you not have a massage?
Tell the therapist if you have these conditions
Contagious skin conditions (boils, warts, or herpes) Other skin conditions (burns, rashes, or sores) Circulatory system issues (high blood pressure, varicose veins, or stroke) Digestive system issues (ulcers, irritable bowel syndrome, or colitis)
What are the requirements for massage therapy in North Carolina?
Attend and graduate from a board-approved school.
To become a massage therapist in North Carolina, you have to complete at least 500 hours at a board-approved massage therapy school. Different schools offer programs ranging from 6 to 12 months, depending on if you choose to go full-time or part-time.
How do I transfer my massage license to NC?
License by Endorsement
- A completed License Application (Form 01) signed and notarized.
- License fee and State Bureau of Investigation criminal history records check fee.
- Executed Fingerprint Card with signed Consent Form for criminal history records check.
- Documentation of high school education or equivalent.
Can I massage without a license in NC?
Licensure is a legal requirement in the State of North Carolina. Those who are practicing massage and bodywork therapy without a license after January 1, 2001 will be in violation of G.S. 90-634 of the Practice Act, and may be subject to disciplinary action or prosecution.
How old do you have to be to get a massage in North Carolina?
At least 18 years old, with a high school diploma or G.E.D.
What should you not do during a massage?
What NOT to Say / Do with Your Massage Therapist
- Ask your massage therapist to go see a movie / come to your house / etc. …
- Excessive noises. …
- Comment on our looks/attractiveness. …
- Poke your head out of the room to let us know you’re ready. …
- Start undressing while we are still in the room. …
- Touch us.
Who should not take massage?
“There are times when getting a massage is not advised: When someone has an active fever, inflammation due to injury, overly high blood pressure, infectious disease, skin conditions such as impetigo, active herpes or boils, varicose veins, hernia, skin cancers or all cancers where radiation or chemotherapy are involved …
Why massage should not be carried out if certain conditions are present?
Please be considerate to your therapist and cancel your massage if you come down with a contagious condition. Massage can loosen blood clots. This could be dangerous because the clot could migrate to the brain, lungs or heart.
How many months does it take to become a massage therapist?
Massage therapists usually require completion of an 18- to 24-month or 18- to 36-month program in massage therapy from an accredited school and a period of supervised practical training.
Can a felon be a massage therapist NC?
Convictions of certain crimes present an unreasonable risk to patients, students and the reputation of the Approved Provider Program. Therefore, any NCBTMB applicants with a history of any felony or misdemeanor crime set forth below shall be denied certification or approved provider status in all cases.
How can I be a massage therapist?
Five Steps to Becoming a Licensed Massage Therapist
- Complete a massage therapy program. …
- Complete practical requirements. …
- Pass the licensing examination. …
- Apply for a state license. …
- Complete a certification. …
- Latest Posts.
What is an art of healing license?
NC state law G.S. 105-41 requires every individual who practices a profession to pay an annual license tax of $50.00 for the privilege of conducting that activity. It is called “Art of Healing” license. … This license is issued only to individuals and not in the name of businesses, corporations, or groups.
How do I transfer my massage license to South Carolina?
You must complete 500 hours of massage therapy school and pass the National Certification Examination (prior to November 1, 2014) or the Federation of States Exam for Massage Therapy (MBLEx). Once you have done that, you may submit your application with the requested information and the appropriate fee.